Introduction and ClimateNewcomer InformationCommunity Breakdown
Health CareEconomyEducationActivitiesFort Jackson

To help you understand the location of most residential areas, listed below are the most common terms used to describe communities in relation to downtown Columbia:

Intown - City of Columbia north to I-20, including Eau Clair and Elmwood, and south including Rosewood, Shandon and Olympia

Forest Acres/Lake Katherine - East of downtown Columbia, including Forest Acres, Forest Lake, Arcadia Lakes, Heathwood and Lake Katherine

Northeast - Northeast of downtown Columbia, bounded on the west by I-77 and on the south by Fort Jackson, including Blythewood and Pontiac

Camden/Kershaw - Kershaw County, including the cities of Elgin, Lugoff and Camden, plus Lake Wateree

Southeast - Southeast of downtown Columbia, below Fort Jackson, including Hampton areas

Northwest - Northwest of downtown Columbia, along the northern I-26 corridor, including Irmo and St. Andrews, north to Ballentine

Chapin - Northwest rural areas of Lexington and Richland Counties, along northern I-26 corridors, including Chapin, Ballentine, White Rock, and Hilton

Lake Murray - Waterfront or lake access properties of Irmo, Chapin, Newberry, Saluda and Lexington

Lexington - West of downtown Columbia, including the town of Lexington

Rural Areas - Rural areas of southeast Richland County, north Richland County, southern and western Lexington County